October buzz

***blog under construction — understand this, please!***

Hi world,

It’s October, and I’m blogging again. Scared yet? I certainly am. I’ve gone through countless blogs over the years, and I’ve always kind of sucked at it. No more. I’ve deleted most of these blogs, in my attempt to obliterate my own thoughts and their various connotations. No more. It’s time that I started owning up to things, especially my own thoughts. God knows, if you know me in person, I’m rather frank, and hardly the person who comes off as “scared” to speak her own mind.

Anyway, after a wild crazy summer filled with lively romantic adventures, hellish meanders back into bad food habits, failed internships, and mini successes of the film festival variety, I’m dedicated to seeking health for once and for all. This includes: clean eating and in NORMAL portions, dedicating between one and two hours per day to exercise (allowing myself one day of rest), dedicating time to completing various writing/journaling exercises, watching between three and five films a week AND either journaling or short-blogging on said films, reading daily, and most importantly, GETTING MY NEW FILM IDEA INTO ACTION. First step there is to find and/or replace my camera’s battery charger………….

Anyway, October is lovely so far. I woke up to a fog this morning and on my (hurried) bike ride up to campus, I swear I wanted to stop at the light on MLK and take a picture of that golden ravine. I’ve been meaning to do this every day for the past couple of days but I’m always in a hurry and don’t have time to stop. I need to do this soon before that golden ravine becomes a brown nest of sticks!

(ended up taking this pic later in the day. one day I’ll get a morning one!)

As far as school/writing goes, I’m in the process of editing an essay on October/real life zombies that I wrote for my Non-Fiction writing class. I’ve currently hit an emotional wall because it deals with my mom’s terrible boyfriend from the early 2000s, but I’m determined to leap over it, so hopefully that will be up within the next week or so.

Now, onto FOOD, my favorite. Honestly, in addition to sucking at exercise/flexibility/being active, I’ve also previously sucked at cooking. Not just cooking, but eating healthfully in general –I’ve been interested in “health food” or “alternative lifestyles” since high school, and since then, the foods I always chose to take in were most always (relatively) healthy, but I’ve suffered with compulsive over eating, binging, purging, drastic restricting, pretty much the whole nine yards of food issues, since high school. It’s stupid, stupid, stupid, and I’m sick of it. I’ve also always lacked the motivation/desire to exercise, and/or to spend my money on ridiculously priced ingredients for all the neat recipes I stare at on a daily basis. No more.

This week, I’ve tried (and failed) at sneaking pumpkin into two things: 1. A pumpkin tofu scramble 2. Pumpkin/Chocolate/Nutmeg oats. In the former, I added too much Bragg’s Amino Acids. Maybe Bragg’s and pumpkin/sweet stuff just doesn’t go together? I have no idea, cooking is new to me. In the latter, I was inspired by Danni’s (HealthyKitschyVegan’s) Pumpkin Ginger oats, but I had neither powdered ginger nor PB2, so I improvised and used cocoa and nutmeg instead. Don’t do this! It was awful.

I’ve also been sick, feverish, coughing, and just feeling clouded down and useless in general, but I did whip up a delicious lentil soup with red lentils, French green lentils, red kale, green kale, and rainbow chard. One thing being sick has done for me: swayed me over to veganism once more! I’m only committing to a week-long challenge for now, because I’m so wishy washy with these things, but I  haven’t been eating dairy because that’s just nasty when you’re sick, and yesterday morning, just thought, what the hell, why not. So, that’s that!

Now, exercise: Like I said, I’ve been feverish since Thursday, but last week, I did manage to complete Cassey Ho’s (Blogilates princess) #OMGoctober Week 1. I’m behind on Week 2, as I skipped both Monday and Tuesday, but I’m feeling better today and so am halfway through with Wednesday, and plan on finishing that plus at least half of Tuesday’s to make up. Hopefully, I can sneak the missed exercises in throughout the week.

Finally, film. As I mentioned briefly, I was film festivaling all week last week, as I had my first short film screen in my first film festival! The festival was the Local Sightings Festival at my favorite place, the Northwest Film Forum, and the film I screened is called “The Three Body Problem” –a crazy little punk brain child that resulted from the documentary filmmaking class I took last spring, with my beloved partner, THE John Ned. If you’re interested, give me a shout, and I’ll consider sending you a link. Anyone out here into foreign documentaries? It features Michael Glawogger! Will say no more.

Expect some blurbs on the various features I saw both inside and outside of the festival within the next couple of days (I don’t want my first ever perma-post to be too convoluted!) but here’s a list of films I’ve seen over the past week

The International Sign for Chokingby Zach Weintraub, Olympia, WA

Buoy by Steve Doughton, Portland, OR

*The Men of Dodge City by Nandan Rao

*October Country by Donal Mosher & Michael Palmieri

*Off Label by Donal Mosher & Michael Palmieri

The 39 Stepsby Alfred Hitchcock

*In The Familyby Patrick Wang

The Perks of Being a Wallflowerby Stephen Chopsky

*The Lady Vanishes by Alfred Hitchcock

*film deeply affected me on a personal level

You know, I think that is all for now. Some questions for you:

What’s the best film you’ve seen this week? What up and coming films are you looking forward to? Have you ever considered a vegan challenge? How did it go?

Also, a question you might have for me: why “decadentdal”? Well, as you may or may not know, my name is Dalyce. Some of my friends like to take it into their own liberties to chop off the second half of my name. I suppose it’s endearing or something. So that’s ‘dal’. As for decadent, well, if you know me, you know that I can be pretty decadent. Indulgent. Pleasure-seeking. Hedonistic. All of these things. I truly believe that life is short, and should therefore be filled up with pleasurable experiences. I also think that life should be balanced and healthy. Hence this blog. My attempt at making both of those things happen in the greatest degree possible.

Also look forward to: 1. A memoir I wrote on food issues (also for my Non-Fiction Writing class). Since my next film project involves food issues, I wrote this not only for the class but also as mental preparation/organization for my new film. Sort of a pre-production for the pre-production. 2. Blurb style write-ups on the films I listed above.

NOW actually go out and have a good day. enjoy the autumn mist.

Leave a Reply

